Legends Of The Dork Knight

location: Gotham City
mood:Brooding
music: Tool – “Vicarious”


Well it would seem I have rekindle my ol’ flame for comics again. In particular Batman comics, which is strange because I was always more of a Marvel Comics fan as a child reading the pages of Uncanny X-men, The Avengers, The Hulk and Black Pather with the occasional Ghostbusters and my very early love for the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Adventures series by Archie Comics. Would of never seen myself as much of a DC Comics fan but this stage I think the style of detective, conspiracy and psychological plot lines and the realistic touches of the Batman character has engaged me. I’ve always loved a good anti-hero, philosophically I feel in some ways we are all anti-heros. People who are trying to do the best we can with what we believe and how we see or want to change the world, sometimes we mess up (more then often we can mess up) and things dont always go our way and we might not always make the right decisions but we must continue or the world can and will get the better of us.

Sometimes when I read hero narratives I start to question the concepts of dimensional influence. I think about what my alternative universes would be like, the ones where i save the day, the ones where i am just a comic character who saves the day and the ones where I’m just myself here now – doing what I’m doing. Am I still saving the day right now in this reality and I just dont know it?.

Like James Joyce depicts – am I like Leopold Bloom who defends himself against the Fenian Anti-Semite Citizen as Ulysses defends himself against the Cyclops. (ref. ep:12 of James Joyce’s ‘Ulysses’)

If I was a comic book character – I do like to think I would be some what aware that I was in a comic book, something like Deadpool. That dude is a barrel of laughs!

comics ive been reading lately include:

Batman, Tank Girl, Deadpool, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, The Mighty Mutanimals, Usagi Yojimbo, Cable & Deadpool.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Legends Of The Dork Knight

  1. Emmy

    Poast moar!

    I enjoy your face.

Leave a Reply

